Page Navigation

Tuesday, 1 March 2011

Noon Stone Fell Race | Lynn Hindle, Brian Hargreaves & John McDonagh Memorial Littleborough 5 mile

The Noon Stone Fell Race, organised by Todmorden Harriers, attracted almost 250 runners last Saturday. Despite the relatively mild conditions, rain showers and heavy going underfoot added to the challenge of the 9 mile course which features over 2300 feet of ascent and descent.

The race climbed steeply up to Coldwell Hill from Mankinholes, then immediately back down to London Road for a steady rise to Stoodley Pike. A descent down to Withins Clough led onto the navigation section across open moorland, past Little Holder Stones to the rain gauge at Warland Reservoir.

A steep drop into Black Clough below Langfield Edge was followed by the final climb of the day back past Coldwell Hill and a testing steep descent back to the finish.

A close race soon developed with five runners battling for the win for much of the distance, with the lead changing hands several times. Tom Addison of Lakeland club Helm Hill eventually winning in a time of 1:12:05, just 15 seconds ahead of Ben Mounsey of Calder Valley. Simon Harding of Macclesfield Harriers finished in 3rd place.

Calder Valley won the team prize with Alex Whittem crossing the line in 4th and Gavin Mulholland in 5th.

First Todmorden runner was Sean Carey, recording 8th place in his first attempt at the distance. Ben Crowther was next to finish in 47th, just ahead of Shaun Pickard in 51st.
The ladies race was won in a time of 1:25:40 by Helen Berry of Holmfirth with Kath Brierley taking the honour of first Todmorden lady in 6th, and first v40, having overhauled Sarah Warburton in the final mile. Together with Lucy Burnett, in her first race for the club, they won the ladies team prize for Todmorden.

Tod Results: 8 Sean Carey 1.17.53; 47 Ben Crowther 1.28.28; 51 Shaun Pickard 1.29.22; 69 Clive Greatorex 1.32.46; 75 Ozzy Kershaw 1.33.29; 111 Dan Taylor 1.38.48; 115 Kath Brierley 1.39.42; 120 Sarah Warburton 1.40.10; 143 Andy Glyde 1.44.19; 153 Lucy Burnett 1.45.21; 214 Sue Roberts 1.57.22.

On Sunday, twenty one Harriers turned out for a memorial race in Littleborough for former Todmorden runners John McDonagh and Brian Hargreaves, and Blackburn Road Runners' Lynn Hindle, who all passed away last year.

Originally planned as a 5km road race, roadworks meant a course switch to a longer and tougher 5 mile trail race. The runners were faced with an early steep climb up Blackstone Edge Old Road and then a further climb along the Pennine Bridleway.

After crossing over the motorway, a steep descent looped them back under Rakewood viaduct and past Hollingworth Lake for a fast downhill finish back in Littleborough.

Rob Jackson of Horwich RMI won in a time of 29:37, with former Todmorden runner Sue Becconsall now of Bingley Harriers finishing first lady in 33:07 and 8th overall.

Dwane Dixon and Martin Stork led the way for Todmorden finishing in 2nd and 4th places respectively, with Dave Collins completing the course in 10th place.

Sarah Glyde finished 3rd lady, just ahead of Lucy Hobbs in 4th with Mel Siddall just edging out Hatty Nylon for 8th lady.

Tod Results: 2 Dwane Dixon 30.31; 4 Martin Stork 31.03; 10 Dave Collins 33.31; 15 Simon Galloway 35.03; 17 Richard Butterwick 35.21; 18 Kevin Booth 35.23; 24 Keith Parkinson 37.38; 26 Phil Cook 38.29; 27 Sarah Glyde 38.36; 28 Lucy Hobbs 38.55; 34 Paul Brannigan 39.50; 35 Mel Siddall 40:00; 36 Hatty Nylan 40.05; 40 Kevin Coughlan 41.35; 46 Nigel Hanson 42.49; 49 Peter Ehrhardt 43.24; 52 Helen Hodgkinson 43.54; 53 Andrea Marshall 44.26; 63 Dave O'Neil 48.29; 72 Barry Chapman 50.17; 73 Myra Wells 50.42.

Steve Bateson's Littleborough 5 pics...

No comments:

Post a Comment