Page Navigation

Tuesday, 25 October 2011

Race You To The Summit | Hyndburn Cross Country | Withins Skyline Fell Race

Todmorden Harriers started the weekend in fine form with all five who tackled the ‘Race you to the Summit’ fell race taking home prizes.

The route was slightly longer than the usual 4 miles as it climbed from the Summit Inn up to the Whitehouse and back down again.

Sean Carey in 6th, Darren Graham in 12th and Dan Taylor in 23rd won the men’s team prize, whilst Hatty Nylan finished 3rd lady, and Elise Milnes 6th lady.

The Red Rose Cross Country League continued with its second fixture at Hyndburn on Saturday afternoon.

Jack Crummett was the first Harrier in action in the U13 boy’s race, where he finished in 10th place.

The ladies then took on the 5km course, with Kath Brierley leading the way with 28th place, and 3rd v50. She was followed by Lucy Hobbs and Mel Robertson to take the ladies team into a provisional 12th place. Andrea Marshall and Mandy Goth completed the woodland course in 85th and 88th respectively.

The men’s team improved on their performance in the first race, to finish in 6th position.

Jon Wright led them in with 19th place and 3rd v40. A highly competitive battle then saw Dwane Dixon, Nick Barber and John Lloyd finish with seconds of each other, with Robin Tuddenham and Martin Stork the other counters.

Dan Taylor and Richard Butterwick finished in 103rd and 165th respectively.

On Sunday, the Withins Skyline Fell Race formed the final race in the club’s fell championship.

The 7 mile route began in Penistone Quarry, near Howarth, and climbed upwards toward the Stoop stone, passing along the skyline to the ruin of Top Withins. A descent to Bronte Bridge was followed by a stiff climb and a long run back to the final climb up to the finish.

Robin Tuddenham was the first Harrier to finish in 33rd place, after pulling out a lead on Paul Hobbs on the final climb. Dan Taylor completed his third race of the weekend with 76th place.

Hatty Nylan was the first Todmorden lady in 227th, just ahead of Chris Preston in 237th place.

Todmorden results: 33 Robin Tuddenham 50:29; 42 Paul Hobbs 51:09; 76 Dan Taylor 54:36; 90 Darren Tweed 55:29; 123 Simon Galloway 58:13; 128 Clive Greatorex 58:28; 181 Phil Hodgson 1:01:36; 212 Keith Parkinson 1:04:03; 221 Keith Drinkwater 1:04:47; 227 Hatty Nylan 1:05:15; 237 Christine Preston 1:05:51; 258 Elise Milnes 1:07:46; 269 Kevin Coughlan 1:08:44; 277 Sue Roberts 1:09:53; 298 Mandy Goth 1:13:48; 301 Dave O'Neill 1:14:51; 312 Louise Abdy 1:18:27; 316 Richard Butterwick 1:28:13; 322 Myra Wells 1:53:00.

No comments:

Post a Comment