Page Navigation

Thursday, 6 December 2012

2012 Presentation Evening | Fallen Heroes 5k

Todmorden Harriers celebrated their successes at their annual presentation evening that took place at Todmorden Cricket Club, on Saturday.

Club Chairman Mandy Goth announced the winners of the club competitions, with awards being handed out by new club president Barry Chapman.

Lauren Jeska was awarded the Eric Stuttard Trophy for her performances in the Ladies English Fell Championships, where she won the gold medal for the third consecutive year, and also was gold medallist in the British Fell Championships.

Nick Barber was awarded the men’s club Fell Champion Trophy, with Helen Hodgkinson receiving the ladies Fell Champion Trophy.

Age category awards in the fell championship were made to Helen Wilson (lv45) and to Paul Brannigan (v45), Dave Collins (v55), Chris Drinkwater (v60) and Peter Ehrhardt (v65).

John Lloyd scored a record total of points as he was crowned club Road Champion, with Sarah Glyde retaining the Ladies Road Trophy once again

Age category awards in the road championship went to Robin Tuddenham (v40), Nigel Hanson (v55), Peter Ehrhardt (v60) and Mel Robertson (lv50).

Paul Hobbs was awarded the Trail Championship Trophy.

The Grand Prix Champion, awarded for performance on road, trail and fell, was won by Paul Brannigan with a total of 22 members receiving trophies and certificates for achieving qualification for this competition.

Nick Barber was crowned Club Champion, a trophy that reflects all round ability on the road and fells at a range of short, medium and long distances.

Chris Drinkwater was named the ‘Most Improved Runner of the Year’ award to reflect the effort and progress he has made this year.

John Lloyd was also awarded the ‘Toilet Seat’ trophy which is awarded to the Harrier who has the most running related misadventures during the year.

A vote was held on the night for the ‘Clubman of the Year’ which was presented to club treasurer Richard Leonard.

The following morning several Harriers were back in action at the Fallen Heroes 5k in Littleborough, held in memory of Fiona Bone and Nicola Hughes.

John Lloyd finished in 8th place in a time of 16:57, followed by Robin Tuddenham in 12th with a time of 17:47 and Richard Butterwick crossing the line in 19:32 for 26th position.

Claire Duffield was first Todmorden lady to finish in 22:47 for 68th, with Mel Siddall five places behind in 23:14 and Myra Wells stopping the clock at 27:49 in 128th place.

No comments:

Post a Comment